Voices

I have to say since I started blogging I mainly received supportive and kind comments. I read them every morning.
 
Some make me smile.
Some bring tears to my eyes.
Some make me see things differently.
Some show me I am blessed.
Some send me much love. 
Some change my mood and brighten my day.
Some make me want to improve myself.
Some are full of wisdom.
Some are full of joy.
All are beautiful, encouraging, lovely and kind. All make me want to continue, to keep up writing and to improve myself. 
 

Now yesterday, for the first time maybe, I read a different kind of comment on my other blog. A new visitor. First I thought of deleting it, because the words were kind of disturbing for me.
But then I remembered tolerance and respect, values I have talked about many times on this blog.
And I realised everybody has a voice. Maybe not a voice I like or agree with, but a voice. And every human being should be able to speak their mind. 

This brought me back a couple of years ago, I was studying Law at college in France and we were about to vote for our President. 
At the time one of the candidates  was JM LePen. He is from the party “Extreme Right” and has many strong ideas on the Emigration Politics and how he wants France to be for French, White people. He said many disturbing things about the Holocaust and the young generation of people coming from North Africa. 
Anyway…………at this time most students were arguing whether or not Mr JM LePen could express his opinion and should be invited for talks or meetings. I don’t agree with what he says. But he has the right to say it. 
This is what we call Democracy, something we are proud of. 
 
Now I think there is a way to speak our mind, so we don’t hurt others. There is a way to balance words so that they remain respectful. Words used differently can make a huge difference, as Mother Theresa said: “I don’t fight against war, I fight for Peace”. 
 

I still don’t know how to answer to the comment I received. Maybe I will take the time I need to answer respectfully to a comment that would have deserved a bit more reflection in my opinion. 

PS: I just wanted to add reading your nice comments that I don’t feel offended by what this blogging lady said. It’s her right to disagree. She could just have done it with a once of respect for Z. religious beliefs.
I just have an issue giving her an answer, thought maybe I should stick to the idea that sometime Silence is Gold. 


Voices are strong. Some are stronger than others. 

21 thoughts on “Voices

  1. I saw her comment sis Marie..and I did visited her site..the way I see it..she has looked at life negatively..I did reviewed her writings..she has her own reasoning though she is the type that insists on her own “self known” correct principles..their are really persons who have been through a lot of pains in their lives and they become Bitter and condemned..though she may seem to be strong and firm..I know inside her she is hurting..for me sis Marie..I will answer her how I feel..besides it is your site..so answer her the way you know and also stand on your own principles..duh..she just feels she is all knowing..you have done a great work sis Marie..don't mind her..you are GREAT sis Marie love you sis 😉

    Like

  2. Very true. Just a few months ago, I was actually studying ancient cultural history and, amongst other things, democracy. Vastly different from our our idea though. At different times, different classes had a say in the running of the town/country, but whatever the status class, named citizens (i.e. slaves could not be citizens, and in only some towns women could), every single citizen was allowed to partake in the running of the country. Today, we vote for a select few and then wash our hands of it.Anyway, just a fun bit of history. I found it fascinating. At one stage, Democracy was as Communism is today. Outlawed and disgusting.With regards to your piece: It is true that everyone should have a voice, but much the same as having a voice, comes the right to ignore a voice, to disagree with a voice and to argue a voice. I agree that everyone should be allowed to speak, but then sometimes someone will speak that disagrees with that. That's a voice in its own right as well.

    Like

  3. Izdiher, you are sweet! ThanksMuriel, you're right but I am the kind of girl who tries to understand why and I am never sure whether I should answer harsh comments and just let it be. But thanks for your encouragement! They mean much to me.

    Like

  4. Marie, I understand it's really hard to decide. Sometimes, what seems to be negative or harsh is the starting point for us towards positivism. It's just my point of view.

    Like

  5. I am not sure what the comment said, but please be assured that yes, we have all had to deal with these kind of negative comments before…I agree with you 100% ~ democracy is a wonderful thing, but so is respect! There is a decent manner in which to express your opinion, without offending or insulting the other person's point of view…Hope you are ok…Just focus on all the positive comments you have recieved :o)

    Like

  6. I am not sure which comment you mean but at the end of the day try not to worry about it. Not everyone will agree with what you say and you will come across negative comments.As you say everyone has the right to their opinion… xx

    Like

  7. Foz, as it was a comment on a “guest post” I was just not sure how to answer it. I agree some people might disagree with me, but at the end of the day I think measure should be applied when dealing with others. Take care.xxChantell, Thanks very much. I think I still have a hard time on dealing with negative ideas. Stay blessed for keeping my mood up.

    Like

  8. Hi Marie,Good points you have raised here.There are people not in agreement with you, yet there are those who don't differ with you, and there are some who always support you.Be tolerant and be blessed Always.Face criticism with bravery.Nevertheless,the people should only do healthy criticism.I am your fan.

    Like

  9. I have received a few comments that I would describe as challenging. They were from the same person, I think (posted anonymously), and seemed motivated by a desire to provoke argument. However, the tone was respectful and I did not hesitate to post them and to respond, hopefully in a way to promote dialogue rather than argument. On the other hand, I have received one or two comments that I would describe as rude and not offering any opportunity for meaningful or respectful dialogue. I did not post them. Not sure that's helpful, but that has been my experience.On another point, I just retired from a legal career–practicing for 10 years and teaching for 20 years. Do you or did you practice law?And one other add on–I lived in Paris for a few years. I remember LePen very well. He reminded me of a politician who climbed the ranks here in the US–David Duke. Duke never made it as far as LePen did, but it made for some interesting and sometimes troubling political debate. Democracy in action.Great post. Thanks for bringing up an important topic.

    Like

  10. C'est vrai qu'on ne peut pas tous être d'accord, il n'empêche que chacun doit pouvoir exprimer sa voix.On a tendance à l'oublier mais comme tu le dis, c'est le principe de la démocratie!!

    Like

  11. Dearest MarieI know that it's hard for you to deal with people's negativity, this is because you are someone with a pure heart and willingness to open up to others. However, we are always going to have people who have something negative to say, whether it's about us personally or about our beliefs, there's always going to be someone who feels that they know better and that they have a right to hold their negative opinions, I think that's fine, let people think what they want to think. It shouldn't bother us at all. We need to look at what our aims and motivations are in life. We need to spread the truth and we need to continue doing this, especially when people are negative. Let's not be offended by negative attitudes, let's try and continue spreading positivity. Thank you for being you and for always looking at things so optimistically.May you be in peace always. Stay well

    Like

  12. Her comments are based on the common misconception about Islam. No matter what we say, they will be of the same opinion still. Unless Allah gives them “hidayah” (the light).At the end of the day, people have the right to their own opinion just as we have the right to ours. We don't have to agree but we don't have to fight either!Much love for you!

    Like

  13. What a very substantial post. I too have at times been saddened by comments. The written word is so powerful, because it is right there, not accompanied by a face, not a tone of a voice and can at times be misunderstood. Therefore I try to, at all times, choose my words with care when commenting and am often overly kind, just not to be misunderstood.;)Despite this, if this is any consolation, people still at times misunderstand me, whether is the writing in my posts or the content of my comments. I have gotten hostile responses to my comments as well. So do no worry, it will effect you for a few days, but then it will pass. Always stay true to your own opinions and remain kind, the you have nothing to worry about.;)))Have a lovely weekend,xoxo

    Like

  14. Balqis, interesting perspective, thanks very much! Sie, I think you are right, some feel they know it all and some are open to discussion. It's the way we are. Now the most important is to keep in mind to respect each other.Thank you so much my dear Sie.Nadya, Interesting. Now democracy is quite a scary concept too. As I will put it, each one of us can have a voice and it's all fin till it's start to be disrespectful.Thanks for visiting and adding your voice.

    Like

  15. Tariq, thanks. Well said. Accepting criticism is a virtue. Stay blessed.Zarina, I have to admit I feel helpless sometime in front of negativity. But you are right this exists, we should keep going and spread the beautiful messages we have in our hearts. Some will follow, some won't. And it's fine.Thanks for being a true friend and a strong support – it means a lot to me.

    Like

  16. Thanks Zuzana, your words are great comfort. I try too to be careful using words. You never know how somebody else can interpret them. But as long as there is kindness and love, all is fine, we won't please everybody and we have to learn to accept ourselves the way we are. Take care and have a lovely week-end!

    Like

  17. Galen Pearl, Thank you very much for your support and kind comments always. I think you are right the tone is essential and to balance our words so they are not harsh or disrespectful for others. I studied Law for 6 years but thought I love it, I am working in finance instead! Very strange, you lived in Paris too, looks like we have some things in common. Have a great week !

    Like

Your words are lovely, share them with me!

