Amie from The United States

I have to say this one came as a surprise. My dear friend Amie who blogs @ A Meaning of an Optimist announced great news last week and I truly thought she would not be able to complete this before her big move…………but she did and I am delighted cause she has some ideas I always shared without saying them out loud!
Time to hear Amie’s voice now: 

1. Where are you from?
          
 I’m from the United States of America.
2. What are you doing in life – job, occupation?
          
A couple months ago, I worked at the front desk of the Hilton. I quit that job to move closer to my brother, and help him get back onto his feet after he got divorced. I do the cooking/laundry/cleaning and nannying his two toddlers, and that is my job for the time being :). But I am in the process of looking for a job that gets me outta the house!
3. Do you think in your country women have a voice? If not, what do you think could be done?
      
It goes without saying that the women in the United States have not only a voice, but a strong one at that. Thanks to all of the women’s rights movements and acts that have happened from the beginning till now, we ladies have been liberated to vote, to work equal jobs as men, and to accomplish our dreams. We can do whatever we want, well, most things. We have been given a voice and we have made it clear that we demand to be treated the same as men. 
However, in my personal opinion, we have spoken up so much that it has backfired on us, in a way. Back in the simple days, the roles of man and woman were, well, simple: the man was the breadwinner, who worked and provided for the family; the woman was the caretaker of the home, requiring her to stay home and keep the house in order. 
Now the roles are mixed, and in recent studies in the US, it is the women who are obtaining the college degrees and getting the jobs. It is starting to look as if more women are working than men. But the cruel irony of all this is that after all of the women’s rights movements and liberations we have demanded, even after the college degrees and jobs we have been working, there is still that unspoken expectation of women to be the caretakers of the home. Yes, we have gained freedom to work but we still are expected to fulfill our house duties. 
In the media, who do we see taking care of the children? Mom. Who do we see in the commercials cleaning up the house? Women. We are still being expected to fulfill our duties, no matter how hard we work outside the home. And that is why I say it has backfired on us, to a point. It is a major kink that I am not sure will ever be smoothed out.
I am thankful that I am living in the US, and that I have the freedom that women before me worked so hard to achieve. 
I am a blessed woman to be able to make choices that women in other countries cannot. And the choice I make will be that when I become a mother, I will embrace my womanhood and the role that God has made for me, and be a stay-at-home mama!
4. If you have/had a girl, what is the Golden Rule you would like to pass on to her? 
            
Out of all the commandments in the bible, there are two that Jesus Christ pointed out as the most important: Love your God, and Love your Neighbour as you would yourself. Those are the commandments that God has etched into my heart and I pray that my future children will be blessed by following these commandments as well. That’s really more than one golden rule but hey, they kinda go hand-in-hand :). 
However, that is for all of my children, both girl and boy. After thinking about it and thinking about my own childhood, the rule I would like to instil into my daughters would be that their purity will be the best gift to give to the one they love and marry someday. 
And that once they lose their virginity, they will never get it back. That sex is meant for marriage, and that it is a gift from God, and should be treated as such. That if any boy tries to rush her, that she has the power to say no. 
I would want my daughters to know that they are more than worth the wait, and that if any boy tries to convince them otherwise, then she deserves better.

 
5. How your religious beliefs (if you wish to share) empower you as a woman?
          
Being a servant of God and a follower of Jesus, I am liberated to be a woman!!  According to the Creator, it is the woman’s place to be at home and to be caretaker of all that goes on in the home. And I am so thankful for this role, and thankful that He didn’t say, “And the women shall go out and sweat and toil over the earth!” Simply put, my Creator made me to be the homemaker and helpmeet to my husband. 
I am happy to be the one supporting and encouraging, and not the one leading. And I know once we have kids, I will be one blessed woman to be fulfilling my heavenly call, to be at home and make it a peaceful haven for my family! 
I do not know one mother who would rather go out and work rather than stay home with her child. Yes, I full-heartedly believe that our Creator made us ladies to be this way for a reason! Praise the Lord for that!
6. Before you leave this world, what change would you like to see or experience?
       
Ideally? I’d like to see the roles of men and women back into their rightful place. I’d like to see men be men, to go out and provide for their families instead of leaning on the wife for help. 
I’d like to see the mothers taking care of their own children, instead of always booking babysitters or taking them to daycare. Kids need motherly love, and they just are not getting it. I guess I could say that I am old-fashioned.
7. A Cause you would support?
       
Anything to do with God, and anything to do with the school system.
8. Friends are important people in our lives – we would all agree I think. What means friendship for you?
       
To me, friendship means a special bond that two people share. Kinda like an inside joke that only the two of you understand :). To be a friend is to be someone who will not tell you what you want to hear, but what you need to hear. To be there when you need them, an emotional support and someone you can laugh with and be yourself with. Friends are so important!
9. If you are a blogger, could you please describe your motivation to start a blog?
       
I started my blog in February 2011, and at first, the only motivation I had for starting it was using it as an outlet. I was a in rough spot at that time, spiritually and emotionally. 
The workplace I worked at was full of gossip, and just flat out evilness all around. It was a dog-eat-dog world there and I definitely did not fit in. It was a good lesson for me, but I desperately needing an outlet for something positive. I wanted to join the blogging world to reach out to other women who were positive and encouraging, so I myself could be encouraged. And it worked 🙂 Today, I know some pretty amazing ladies through blogger, and 
I have been so blessed by the good influence they have in my life.
After awhile, I wanted to transform my blog into something that other lost and depressed ladies could turn to for encouragement. A blog that shared the good things in life, that shared my faith in Christ and the lessons I learn with Him, and of course, FOOD!!! I am a foodie and just recently, I have been posting recipes. So, my blog is kind of a mixture of sorts.
10. How has this benefited your life?
Whoops 🙂 I already stated this in my last answer but I would love to give you an more in-depth answer here. Blogging has been a HUGE impact on my faith in Christ, a big step forward in expressing my own faith. Blogging has also enriched my life with friendships with other lady bloggers who also blog about encouragement, Marie being included. If anyone has stood out in supporting me and keeping my chin up, it’s her. 
11. Your favorite pleasures?
         
My favorite pleasures, hmm. Music has always been one of my favorite pleasures, I have played the piano since I was seven and I have had earphones glued to my head since as long as I can remember. To experience a day without music is torture to me, because it is how I heard the Lord most. I can hear His love for me through music, like it is His love song. 
Secondly, I would say exploring unknown places with my husband. He is my playmate, my best friend, and we love going out and having adventures. He makes fun of me because I have to take pictures of everything. My heart flutters every time my hubby says to me, “Lets go out for a drive and see what we find.” 
Thirdly, I would say cooking and food. I challenge myself to go outside the box and rarely cook the same dish twice, and when I do cook it again, it’s because it’s that delicious. I am blessed to have all sorts of cooking and food at my fingertips!
12. One last word…
Aw Marie, just one? 😉 Unfortunately, what I wanna say will definitely include more than one word. In this last question, I want to share my testimony in how I found Christ. 
Everyone has their story, and this is my own. I grew up going to church, however, the church that my family went to was what hardened my heart. My brother and myself faced quite a bit of discrimination, and I was very confused about God the whole time going there. 
God said that He loved me, but I couldn’t feel any love in this church. When I was old enough, about 12 years old, I told my parents that I would no longer be attending that church, which of course, didn’t sit well with them. But they respected my decision nonetheless.
After a year or so, and after exploring what other people do to find peace and happiness in this world, I still found myself empty. Feeling pointless, like a piece of dust on this earth. I found myself going back to the bible, and reading what Jesus had to say. The more I read, the more I felt…full. Happy. Complete. I then, on my own, gave my heart to Christ and realized that it wasn’t the religion that God wants, it’s the relationship. 
From then on, I have followed Christ. And that is my story :). Thank you, Marie, for letting me write here on your blog, I have been honoured.


Thanks Amie. 
Old fashioned, maybe it’s what some would say. 
As for me I think you pointed out perfectly the importance of  roles 
between men and women.
Society want us to think we are the same
when we have been created with different characteristics and strengths
for a reason.
And you showed us that as women we still have the choice:

Motherhood being a blessing, we don’t have to feel bad deciding to stay home to look after our children.
Being able to work is a blessing too, we don’t have to stay at home if we don’t feel like it.

Be blessed always in your life, your future
and continue the journey with the same amount of love and kindness
We all walk different roads
but our hearts stay close. 

Your words are lovely, share them with me!

