The meaning of words

Do we always understand the meaning of the words we say?

This is the question I was asking myself the other day, after mass. In the “Our Father”, we say and forgive us our trespasses, as we forgive those who trespass against us.” 
Since the day I realized I had a hard time with forgiveness, I have decided to transform a bit this sentence in order to stay true to myself, so I’m adding the words “try” in the second part of the sentence.

That’s it, I’am trying to forgive. I know God is most merciful. God can forgive humanity. I am only a human. I am a work in process. At the end of the day I am not perfect, I’m trying to be a better person and I fail miserably most of the time. And that’s fine. 
I forgave in the past, but it took me time to get there. Forgiveness comes with faith in God and in humanity too. It’s one of the most difficult act to make. It asks a lot of courage. 

We all agree words are powerful, whether they are good or bad words. Therefore we should always use them carefully and think about them before saying them out loud. 
We should mean every word we use and act accordingly to those words. Or we are destroying them and by the end of our lives they would not mean anything anymore. 


Let’s take an example. 

We all said at least once in our life “I love you”. Did we really realize what these 3 words mean, I wonder?

These 3 words bring us at the center of life itself but what does Love mean?

We all made promises but did we keep them?


You see it’s easy to put one word after an other. But definitely more difficult to determine the meaning of each word and to bring it to life.

If you say “yes” today and you don’t respect your promise, your “yes” will have no more value tomorrow. The one who will hear it will not believe it. 
It’s the same for every word. May we remember this in our daily life and may we start to use the right words at the right time for the right thing. 



4 thoughts on “The meaning of words

  1. Beautiful post Marie, I agree with you, many people have lost the true meaning of words and people speak without really understanding the words they say, I think we should all try to speak only what we mean because it's better to remain silent than to utter words which you don't really mean.

    Like

  2. •✰ •✰ •✰ •✰ •✰ •✰Un petit passage chez toi pour te souhaiter une belle journée chère Marie !!!! :)et je t'envoie de GROSSES BISES d'Asie (pour ton bébé aussi bien sûr ! :o) !!!•✰ •✰ •✰ •✰ •✰ •✰

    Like

Your words are lovely, share them with me!

