Don’t ask me to tolerate violence

I won’t.

Not today. Not tomorrow. Never. Ever.

We all have our battles. We all defend ourselves. We all try to raise our voices for something we believe in.

I believe we should do all our best to eradicate violence.

Violence against women, men, children, old people, and animals is not acceptable.

Some people might think that violence has degrees. A slap is not the same as a punch. Economic pressure has not the same impact as sexual abuse. Rape can’t be compared to threats. Honor killing is one thing and war killing is another one.

I don’t agree.

If violence has degrees, this means that all type of violence can be defended. It only depends on what people think about it.

I can’t agree with this.

And I have a hard time dealing with people who disagree with me on this particular subject (but this is my own problem).

Violence is everywhere. In the street. At school. In the office. At college. In our homes also. At the hospital. In prison. You can’t put one foot on the ground, without seeing violence around you. It’s horrible to think that the world, our world, is consumed by violence.

Violence has origins, and before fighting it, we should understand where this violence comes from. Each case is different. Each person reacts differently to violence. But we should not allow it.

We should educate instead. We should find solutions, setting up programs, helping the ones who know their violence cause harm to others and want to change. We should protect victims and erase the guilt.

It’s my vision of the world. A world free of violence. Too idealistic for some. But what about our kids? What do we really want for them?

If we accept a slap, we accept violence as part of our lives. If we accept that a man can be harassed at work, we accept violence as part of our lives. How can we then say NO to it?

I agree that in some cases, using violence might be the only solution at hand. I mean, the only solution that we can think of. Because we are tired. Because we can’t stand a situation. Because life is painful. Because we feel that hitting would relieve us from the burden we carry. That’s ok. That’s human.

The deal is not to let violence take power over us. We have to stay in charge. We have to learn to control our feelings and emotions. We can easily find courses on this. We can pray, turn towards God, he will answer our prayers. We can talk, we can start boxing or a new sport. We can think of our breath and meditate. This is our duty to not allow violence to enter our hearts, minds, bodies. This is our duty to stay NO to violence inside our lives, inside our homes.

Violence can never solve a problem. Look around you and you’ll see that wars are killing way too many people. And nothing change. Men are beating their wives and killing them even sometimes. We can’t forget this. Children see their mums tortured, sick, in much pain and exhausted.

I feel disgusted. I feel ready to throw up, every time I read about these horrors, which happen in our friend’s homes, in our neighbor’s houses.

I can’t stand violence. Not today. Not tomorrow. Never. Ever. 

886aed23a7136e2b2740d200e5373340

7 thoughts on “Don’t ask me to tolerate violence

  1. ***I agree that in some cases, using violence might be the only solution at hand. I mean, the only solution that we can think of. Because we are tired. Because we can’t stand a situation. Because life is painful. Because we feel that hitting would relieve us from the burden we carry. That’s ok. That’s human.***

    No. NO. NO. Never.

    Violence is Never the answer, never the solution.

    Never a hit with words or fists.

    Never.

    Period.

    That’s that.

    Xxx KISS from Minnesota.

    Like

    • It’s NEVER the answer Kim. But I found myself turning crazy so many times in front of my ex-husband, feeling that maybe if I could hit him a way or another, the pain would go. But even if I let hard words go out, this would NEVR ease my pain.
      So Violence is NEVER an answer, you’re right.
      NEVER EVER.
      Love from both of us.

      Like

  2. You’re right, Marie. This world should be free from violence. It’s so sad because it happens everyday, everywhere. How nice it is If only those who commit violence could turn up voluntarily at some kind of rehabilitation centre to correct their wrong doings. May be only then the number of victims will be less.

    Like

    • “It happens everyday, everywhere”. And even sometime it feels like routine. It even became normal for some people. When it’s NOT.
      I know people do great things to help abuser, some abusers ask for help. Others don’t. And justice does not always do its job.

      Like

  3. How true Marie… The world seems to be immersed in violence and these days I dread to even glance through news. Violence everywhere…:(

    Loved what Luther Kind had said, very meaniglful.

    Like

Your words are lovely, share them with me!

