It Takes a Village @World Moms Blog

Since my baby boy was born, I’ve been living with my parents (or it’s the other way around – they are living with me). We all live together in a two-room flat. I share the bedroom with my boy, and my parents sleep on the bed couch in the living room. I know that in some parts of the world, it’s normal. It’s not that usual in my part of the world. Family don’t live together for too long. Parents don’t come back to live with their children when they are getting old. But more and more often, children come back to live with their parents, after leaving home to study. They even come back with their kids or spouse. This is due to unemployment, real estate prices, life getting more and more expensive.

it-takes-a-village

I was not ready for this. I was not ready to sign for it. But I was not alone. I had a little one to take care of. And I was on my own, separated from the father of my son. I had an entire life to rebuild. I needed help. I could have asked other people for this help. But they’re my parents and at the time I came back home, they were the only ones who could offer me the support I needed. My parents don’t care much about travelling or enjoying time together. They are family people, and they were delighted to be there to help me raise my little man.

So we started a new life together, sharing each moment, each joy and nearly each moment of pain, doubt, worry. Read more HERE

4 thoughts on “It Takes a Village @World Moms Blog

  1. Hi Marie,

    Since you have seen such a culture around you where children move out once they are old enough to take care of themselves, that’s why probably you feel this way.
    I have seen married couples stay with their parents all their life, even when they don’t need the support, even when the women of the house are not working, it is just the cultural compulsion and they learn to live together. Of course there are arguments and fights but they are sorted out amicably

    The big benefit goes to the children in the long run. They grow with lots of love, care and adjustments. They become more balanced, patient and learn to be caring and compassionate. I am glad you have such loving parents. We are human and end to have difference of opinion. So what? Look at the brighter side and be happy!

    Like

    • I definitely agree with you Balroop. What is hard to find is the balance. I had also a hard to find my place as a mum. My parents were taking all the space. And for a good while we had to deal with my parents marriage issues too.
      I have to say some days it’s a bit too much for me. I need to be on my own. And the only place I could be on my own at home is the bathroom. Not handy.
      I try to look at the bright side and take the best, only the best out of the situation. It’s fine and then tricky and then fine again.
      Thank you for sharing your point of view on this. Much appreciated.

      Like

    • It’s good a certain way Lisa. If they were living close by it would be even better. It’s important to have family when you are alone raising kids. But it can be overwhelming too, with people having a different way to live than you and with nobody having a space on their own, to unwind and rest. It’s all together nights and days. Thanks god I am working!!

      Like

Your words are lovely, share them with me!

