The urge to write – From darkness to light

You know this urge, the one that nothing seems able to stop, and the one that keeps you awake till the morning like – the urge to write and empty yourself on the paper in front of you.

I felt it, just after Paris Attacks last November. I could not breathe without my pen in my hand and my heart wide opened to let go of all the pain inside me. I could not go out without fear attached to every part of my body. I could not make sense of all this blood on the pavements, all this craziness.

So I did the only thing I could do to overcome the painful sadness, the ugly anger. I kept writing till there was nothing left to say, to understand, to empty, to say, to shout out loud. I kept writing and re-writing and changing things and creating images in my mind. Typing and coming to terms with my own weaknesses, my dark side. Writing and finding the Light again.

Six months later I have it in my hands – my second poetry book. All is there. All that I want to tell you. All that I want to share, for a better and brighter world. I won’t let darkness, shadows, violence or hatred kill my faith and my ideals, my freedom and my love for Life and People. I’ll always stand up for what I believe in and what I wish to create, with my words, my voice and my life.

All the profits will go to a French Charity organization, created by the mother of a military man killed in 2012 by a terrorist. She is working with kids and young adults, visiting schools and prisons, promoting interreligious dialogue, peaceful coexistence and fighting against radicalization.

ils-avaient-un-prenom.jpg

I wonder whether I should try to get these poems translated in English. It’s quite delicate. As words come in one language or the other. I don’t choose. In the meantime, feel free to share the love, peace and light that you and the world deserve!

12 thoughts on “The urge to write – From darkness to light

    • Lisa, you are so good. Thanks a million!
      I think that our words can change little things. We need to raise our voices one way or another. It’s my drop for a better world.
      ps – looking forward reading your short stories soon BTW.

      Like

  1. Hi Marie,

    I appreciate your sensitivity and the urge to share your emotions. It is awesome that we are gifted with the ability to express our thoughts. Much of the baggage that we unnecessarily carry around can be offloaded!
    Congratulations for your second book! I wish you great success dear Marie. Stay blessed and happy.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much Balroop. I thank God every single day for showing me how to let go and free myself from what’s hurting and causing me / the world so much pain.
      Stay well too and thanks for you kind words.

      Like

Your words are lovely, share them with me!

