Divorce matters & Dating life

Yesterday, I did something unusual. I went out for dinner with a guy. Oh I know, this is not something that crazy but after being single for 4 years and haven’t even been kissed, touched, looked at during these 4 years, I can tell you that this was a big step for me.

In fact the man is single with two kids but not yet divorced. And you could see it on this face. He’s devastated. Nice but completely overwhelmed by his new status – seven months is new when you talk about divorce. He has two kids, younger than mine. I let you imagine the earthquake this could be!

He tried is best and we had a nice evening. When looking at him, I saw myself 3 years ago, completely stoned and distressed. I realized that I moved on, I am at a different phase now. I am done with my divorce and my ex. I am done with my messy life and my messy thoughts. I feel happy and blessed. But I know it takes time to grieve and let go of all the things we thought would last a lifetime.

It’s a bit rude to say that but I went back home lighter, knowing the worst was behind and that I was now up to the best part of my life. Maybe it even helped me understand that I would like to meet someone, fall in love, that I am ready to open my heart again, after locking it for many years, in case somebody would steal my broken, not yet mended pieces and play with them again.

How? I don’t have a clue. How you meet new people? How you get back to dating life? I don’t have a clue. I am just feeling like it’s something I would like to try. I am just feeling safe and confident enough to give it a go. We’ll see!

Tell me Ladies, when and how did you get back dating after your divorce or a breakup? How did you meet your spouse or boyfriend? Any advice is more than welcome!  

7 thoughts on “Divorce matters & Dating life

  1. This is an awesome turning point, Marie. Knowing you’re ready is really exciting. I didn’t really date after my separation. I reconnected with an old flame about 6 months after and so I guess you could say I skipped the whole dating scene. Which makes me an unlikely source for dating tips post divorce. There were men who would attempt to ask me out or insinuate a one nighter…these men were married! UGH. Anyhow, it worked out as I am still with my Beau. He is a special guy. I think dating sites have their pros and cons but it’s probably a good way to get some exposure and see about the local fish in the sea. You’ll have fun with it Marie because you’re in a good place and not desperately looking for love. Keep us posted 😉

    Like

  2. Dearest Marie

    I know its been ages since I’ve been in touch but I am so happy to read this post. I love your attitude and it’s nice to see how far you have come. It’s amazing to see how many things people can overcome through Faith and perseverance. We should never limit ourselves and brig ourselves down. I think that all of us have learnt so many lessons from the personal experiences you continue to share with us. Sharing in its own is so brave.

    I wish you all the best for the future, I don’t know what’s the best way to go about meeting people, but I do know that whoever you bring in to your life will have to be someone good.

    All the best always, stay in peace!

    Like

  3. I cannot give you real advice as I’m in the same position as you but… older, no kid. And with my situation (jobless) I cannot date. I don’t know where I will be in few months time: France or Belgium.
    What you could try is dating online. Pick up a good webpage!!!! don’t give your real details if you don’t want to. My cousin , 42 years old found her husband like that. After a year they got married (in June 2015) and now they’ve got in baby boy. (in May 2016) and bought a house….!
    Keep faith; you’re a pretty lovely person 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I am glad you are done with the pain and the grief Marie. Four years must have blurred those unpleasant moments. You have been brave during your healing, pouring your heart out through your writing. Move on dear friend. Believe in yourself, you are awesome! I am so happy that you are thinking about the next step. Love and hugs.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I just love that you went out with this guy and what an incredible revelation to unfold in seeing where he is and how far you have come,Marie! I’m sooo glad you are through those dark days and ready to embrace and pursue those next steps! I’m so so happy for you and the healing that has taken place, my beautiful friend. I just KNOW things will unfold as they should. Praying and believing there is someone absolutely perfect for you out there- and in due time, you will meet.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Oh Marie, this is NEWS :). A good one too. I cannot give you a dating advice, the only thing I can advise you with is take care of yourself and always put yourself – and your boy of course- first. 4 years,,, phew that’s ages ago, I hope you’ll end up in a very healthy marriage :).

    Liked by 1 person

Your words are lovely, share them with me!

