An invaluable lesson

When Jennifer told me she would be in Paris and would love to meet, the first thought that crossed my mind is « I can’t do this ». It’s not that I did not want to see her or anything lik thise, it’s just that the first words that came through my mind were “not good enough”.

I hate these three words.

But they rush like blood into my veins every time I am facing a new situation, a situation that involves new people.

And then, something happened in my mind. I heard a voice saying “what – not good enough – you’re joking!”

I was not.

I mean we were talking about Jennifer Burden there – the founder & CEO of World Moms Network, the woman with ideas, passion, who got involved with the UN Foundation and even got to meet the UN Secretary General, Ban ki-Moon.

I was so scared.

And then I answered “Fabulous, I can’t wait to meet you”, thinking that I still had 3 weeks to get ready.

Crazy!

And then I realized there was nothing to fear. I realized all this “not good enough” bullshit was not about me. It was about all the assholes I met before. I make the choice to stop this voice in my head.

I was good enough. I am good enough. I am even better than “good enough”. I am me. And I am beautiful.

So we met.

And I can say that we had a fabulous time. Meeting Jennifer was like meeting an old friend. We had so much to share about our lives, doubts, dreams. We enjoyed this special moment. It was a special treat to me. I met an open-minded and delicious woman. She was not one to fear or be afraid of. We were just two women happy to connect.

A week later, it was Purnima’s – senior editor at WMN – turn to be in Paris with her family. The bad voice did not come back. I would have told her “shut up” anyway. And again we shared a nice moment all together. It was even hard letting her and her family go.

I am so grateful to have met these wonderful ladies and to have overcome my fears. They both taught me an invaluable lesson:

Be who you are. Be proud of your choices. And the world will embrace you. And you will shine. And the world will shine with you!

571b51437193e64e7694c4a9251c97d0 (2)

13 thoughts on “An invaluable lesson

    • Thanks so much Lisa. We should never doubt and trust life process. And if the shoe doesn’t fit, who cares, we can’t please everybody!
      Take care Lisa – who knows one day we might get a chance to meet!

      Like

  1. OOOOOOOOOO, fabulous.
    You. ARE. MORE. than GOOD ENOUGH, Marie.
    I’ve met a few bloggers and I was terrified, thinking the same thing..
    That voice, that ugly voice…
    (((THEY won’t like you. You are a fake. You are NOT good enough for them.)))
    But the meetings were wonderful.
    xxx
    From MN.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s strange Kim, this lack of self-confidence that we share. These voices are wrong. We ARE ENOUGH and MUCH MORE. I love this line from The Help ” You is SMART, You is KIND, you is IMPORTANT”.
      It’s so PRECIOUS.
      Glad you had wonderful meetings too Kim. Glad you enjoyed yourself and left the ugly voice behind.
      Love and Peace from sunny Paris.

      Like

  2. Fears often creep up at the most unexpected times to knock us down but those who face them boldly can accomplish all they wish. I appreciate your confidence and inner voice, which supported you. When we tell ourselves ‘I am good enough’ we become better than just good! Keep it up dear friend…I love you for what you are. Love and hugs 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for your wise and beautiful words Balroop. It’s a battle inside me sometimes between one voice and another. I am glad when my inner one wins the deal.
      Yes we, me, you are MORE thand GOOD ENOUGH.
      Sending you love dear friend.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I was thinking when I reached out, “I don’t know if Marie will have time for me, but I will give it a shot because I would LOVE to meet her!!” What a most fantastic treat it was to meet you, Marie, because YOU ARE FABULOUS!!!!!!!! Dream day!!!!!!

    Keep being YOU!!!!! 💗

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I just love this so much, Marie! You described that insecurity so well, and I always have the same anxiety when I meet someone- it’s nerve wracking ALWAYS to me. I LOVE how you banished those thoughts and embraced the opportunities to connect with these women. I will remember this when I have another meet up with someone I haven’t seen in real life. THANK YOU for this. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • We tend to feel that we are the only ones feeling this way when in fact we are many lacking confidence when it comes to meeting new people. I am glad I did not let my fears take the power. I would have missed a true and beautiful day with a great woman. Thank you for reading and happy my words can help you. Next time, go for it with an open heart Chris! ❤❤

      Like

Your words are lovely, share them with me!

