Writing and Chocolate ice cream

dc0af68b8f1552b4572bf133ecd351c1

Sometimes writing feels like dipping your fingers in chocolate ice cream

It’s delicious till you can’t stand it

It’s sweet till you can’t eat it

It makes you happy till it makes you sick

It’s happening to me right now as I am in process of re-reading my manuscript. It’s not so much about the story, it’s more about finding the right word, organizing paragraphs, crossing off lines, writing differently. I love it tille I hate it.

So I stop, take a pause, find something else to do, till the passion is back and the paper is not a threat anymore.

And you, how do you see writing? Is it always easy or do you find yourself lost from time to time?

12 thoughts on “Writing and Chocolate ice cream

  1. The first draft is the easiest to get lost in. It’s the editing and enriching (I like to use that word) phase that is most tedious. I find I doubt my story during this phase. Ice cream. Indeed. I love this analogy, Marie. The image is making me want some right now. I am also working on my manuscript so I’ll think of you while I work, too.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Writing isn’t easy for me. Lots of things to consider; the right choices of words, the right expressions and lots more to think of in order to let others understand what I’m talking about.

    I could relate to this post. Thank you for sharing. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh yes, Marie- do I get this! It seems to flow and then comes to a screeching stop. Or just runs dry… for what seems like a very long time. OR it becomes maddening- never ending changes and shifts and better words to find and words you can’t find and on and on…

    Writing is- HARD.

    Taking breaks is ALWAYS a good restorative thing to do. That I’ve learned too…

    Liked by 2 people

Your words are lovely, share them with me!

